Dokuga Forum
Welcome, Guest
Please Login or Register.    Lost Password?
Using Japanese!
(1 viewing) 1 Guest
Go to bottom Favoured: 1
TOPIC: Using Japanese!
Skyisthelimit
Whelp
graphgraph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
Re:Using Japanese! 12 Years, 8 Months ago Karma: 8
I'm no expert, but I'm pretty sure you can use "otou" "okaa" "onii" and "onee" and whatever suffix you prefer with your own family as well. I think it's a matter of preference, and I also think "chi chi" "haha" etc is a little more...old fashioned? I don't know about that last part, but I do know that japanese families definitely do use "otou, okaa, onii, and onee" in reference to their own family as well.

I also would like to add that a common slang among guys for father is "Oyaji" which basically means "Old man"

EDIT - err why is this at the top of the forum? >_>...

Logged Logged

Last Edit: 2011/08/02 22:14 By Skyisthelimit.

The administrator has disabled public write access.
sugar0o who lurks
Destroyer of Boxes
graph
Using Japanese! 12 Years, 8 Months ago Karma: 216
ha! okay so I know some of us do it in fanfiction, i do, but not a lot, but i found this and wanted to share, i think they are correct. so hope things helps someone!

japanese.about.com/bl_family.htm

English word........Talking about your family........Talking about anothers family

Father.....................chichi..........................................otousan
Mother.....................haha...........................................okaasan
OlderBrother..........ani...............................................oniisan
OlderSister............ane..............................................oneesan
YoungerBrother....otouto..........................................otoutosan
YoungerSister.......imouto.........................................imoutosan
Grandfather...........sufu.............................................ojiisan
Grandmother........sobo............................................obaasan