Dokuga Forum
Welcome, Guest
Please Login or Register.    Lost Password?
Fanfiction and blurring the anime timeline?
(1 viewing) 1 Guest
Go to bottom
TOPIC: Fanfiction and blurring the anime timeline?
Kaycibabe
Pup
graphgraph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
Fanfiction and blurring the anime timeline? 8 Years, 10 Months ago Karma: 0
How important is it for you as a reader that fanfiction stay close to the anime/manga event timeline?

I understand AU and that as a fanficiton author I can do whatever I want to craft the story I desire but i'm interested in how you as a reader prefer your stories to go.
Does it matter if things are switched around particularly around the 'final act'or does it comfort you to read things born from the actual events as they should fall?

Thanks for any and all feedback I appreciate the time you've taken to read this.

Logged Logged
  The administrator has disabled public write access.
None
Time Traveler
graphgraph
Re:Fanfiction and blurring the anime timeline? 8 Years, 10 Months ago Karma: 57
For moi,

It really depends on the genre and the focus of the story. I don't really care if it is canon or AU provided that canon elements are acknowledged to a point where you can follow the AU storyline without getting too confused by the changes.

I'm not a great fan of OC leads in an AU fic. Minor OCs are fine. I tend to create mine so they fill a niche that's empty. I can't slot them in otherwise, since a canon character usually fills that part already. Takes too much subtle manouvering unless you're very creative.

Don't care either way with the anime or manga timelines.

I've read a little and watched a little of each.

Nothing huge.

There's plenty of room for interpretation.

The only thing I've noticed with AU stories, is that there are some good ones, but very few great ones. I don't know why. I've never come across more than a handful that are so fantastic they're still my favourites today.