Dokuga Forum
Welcome, Guest
Please Login or Register.    Lost Password?
Should I post a dark story?
(1 viewing) 1 Guest
Go to bottom
TOPIC: Should I post a dark story?
gildedglass
Pup
graphgraph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
Should I post a dark story? 6 Years, 9 Months ago Karma: 7
Hi, I'm Philosophy Blue, and I'm an author on this site you may have seen around once or twice.

My conflict is that I have a dark story saved in my files that's a pet of mine, but I'm not sure whether to post it or not. It would be my first story with mature, explicit scenes (of the lemon kind), and there's also the fact that it's dark. Really, really dark. As in, no hope for shipping. I feel like posting it will expose me, in a way, with all the twisted things in it.

I know this is my choice, but I would appreciate some feedback from authors who have felt the same with posting lemons and dark stories. Will it make me feel more free, or just plain embarrassed?

Thanks!

Logged Logged
  The administrator has disabled public write access.
Moonlight Silk
Daiyoukai
graphgraph
Re:Should I post a dark story? 6 Years, 9 Months ago Karma: 37
To be honest dark themed stories rate very high on my list. I always admire authors who have the courage to put themselves out there despite what others may think. If you are not confident with how readers may perceive you as the writer based on the dark, twisted scenes in your story, then I advise you not to do it. Try to remember when you put yourself out there you let in the good and the bad. Some may like it and others might feel disgusted. On the other hand, I would post it. Creative expression whether light or dark does not necessarily implicate an individual. Either way it is your decision to make.

PS: I wouldn't mind reading it.

Logged Logged
Avalei
Whelp
graphgraph
Re:Should I post a dark story? 6 Years, 9 Months ago Karma: 54