Dokuga Forum
Welcome, Guest
Please Login or Register.    Lost Password?
My heart and mind..
(1 viewing) 1 Guest
Go to bottom
TOPIC: My heart and mind..
AmaViarra
Shrine Girl
graphgraph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
My heart and mind.. 13 Years, 7 Months ago Karma: 23
have been having an intense battle since yesterday and it seems as though neither side is winning so far. It's starting to tear me apart.

The reason for this battle?

A dog.

I have been preparing to get a dog for the past two years, I have researched breeds and narrowed it down to two breeds that would fit me best. An Akita and A Belgian Lakenois

The thing is, for pure breed puppies of either breed, it is rather expensive. So I decided that I would wait to get either of those breeds until I have my house and the money saved, with this decided, I went with the option I always favored. Which is adopting.

So, I went on petfinder and was looking through dogs in shelters near my house. The thing is, with my dad's dog, I had only one type in mind. Which was a puppy, a male and a dog that would grow to be a big breed.

However, what I found, was the opposite of most of what I was looking for.

I found a Shiba Inu male, he is 9 ½ years old. Not only is he a small breed and a senior dog, but he is also blind in one eye and has limited vision in the other.

But still knowing this, my heart leaped out at his picture and I felt emotionally pulled to him. Which is where the battle comes in, while my heart says 'Adopt him, the only other animals you have felt this pull with was your ferrets' however my mind keeps voicing 'what ifs'

What if he doesn't get along with my ferrets

What if I'm not good enough for him.

And a lot more. I showed him to my dad. He was like 'Well why would you want to do that, he's to old. What if he has a lot of bad habits.'