Dokuga Forum
Welcome, Guest
Please Login or Register.    Lost Password?
I looked in the face of death today.
(1 viewing) 1 Guest
Go to bottom
TOPIC: I looked in the face of death today.
Trouble_In_Shangri_la
Whelp
graphgraph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
I looked in the face of death today. 14 Years, 1 Month ago Karma: 8
I'm a nurse and I see death a lot. It's always been right before or right after. Most of the time if somebody is coding when they come in, they won't shock back to life like on TV.

When somebody has cancer or another terminal ailment, death is a process that takes place over time. Every person is different. The sounds a person makes when they're very near the end is scarily similar to the gurgle of a coffee maker.

And then there are sudden deaths, which is what I saw today. I'm still so shaken up by it. You'd think a nurse sees it all - honestly I haven't. If I say I have, something comes up to prove me wrong.

In any case...

A gentleman in his mid fifties came in with some chest pains that worried him. He was taken RIGHT in because chest pains aren't something you fool around with. I took down his history while he was sitting with the gurney partly reclined. The poor guy was SO upset that I asked him to tell me about what he does for fun to take his mind off it while I charted his vitals.

He smiled at me and started to say something about rock climbing. Suddenly, his face just sort of froze for a second. His eyes looked past me, and I swear I saw a light going out behind them. Then his eyes rolled back and his jaw spasmed open and he slumped backwards and lapsed into agonal breathing. Agonal breathing is a type of breathing that happens when the heart goes into fibrillation. The lungs take in air, but the oxygen doesn't go anywhere because the heart is quivering instead of beating properly. A person in this state WILL DIE if somebody doesn't start CPR and defibrillate right away.