Dokuga Forum
Welcome, Guest
Please Login or Register.    Lost Password?
OMG..... It's the curse of.....Writers Block!!!!
(1 viewing) 1 Guest
Go to bottom
TOPIC: OMG..... It's the curse of.....Writers Block!!!!
Dollchan
Pup
graphgraph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
OMG..... It's the curse of.....Writers Block!!!! 8 Years, 3 Months ago Karma: 1
So I've been writing for nearly five years now but just recently started posting.
The thing is I've come to a standstill on my story and have done everything under the blue moon to try and get out of this funk.... I have what I want to write in my head but when I put it to paper (type it out) I just don't like it.... It's kinda like having a beautiful image in my head to draw but when I go to draw what it is I end up making something that looks like my 2 yr old drew it...
If anyone has any helpful advise I'd appreciate it.

Logged Logged
  The administrator has disabled public write access.
Kyndred Raven
Whelp
graphgraph
Re:OMG..... It's the curse of.....Writers Block!!!! 8 Years, 3 Months ago Karma: 22
I read this last night before bed and was too tired to write out a reply, but seeing as nobody has written anything yet, I guess I could try to relate what I do in these kinds of situations.

I've been writing for over a decade now, and I can tell you - this sort of thing doesn't get any easier. We are our own biggest critics, especially when it comes to art and writing. What I do when I get in a "funk" (as you put it) is either work on something else (another project) for a little while or keep writing.

If you're stuck on a chapter, for example, and you've written it out but you just don't like it, then move on to the next chapter. I find that doing that gives me a fresh perspective sometimes. Going back and changing things isn't too difficult after all, especially if you haven't posted yet.